meanlittleboy2
JESUS IS LORD!!

FINISHED WORK AT THE CROSS

Tony Miano

What Did Jesus Finish?

Let’s begin by identifying what the “it” is. What did Jesus finished? Jesus gives us the answer throughout the Gospels, and the New Testament writers give us the answer throughout the epistles.

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them,” (Matthew 5:17).

Jesus obeyed the Father by being the perfect fulfillment of the Law of God and the prophesies regarding the Messiah. Jesus finished the work given to Him by His Father.

“Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household,” (Matthew 10:34-36).

“Do you think that I have come to give peace on earth? No, I tell you, but rather division,” (Luke 12:51).

Jesus did not come to preach a message of coexistence, tolerance, or ecumenism. Jesus made it clear that you are either with the one true God or against Him. Such truth was and is today the most divisive message the world has ever known. Jesus finished the work given to Him by His Father.

“I have come in my Father’s name, and you do not receive me. If another comes in his own name, you will receive him,” (John 5:43).

“For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me,” (John 6:38).

Jesus came in the name of the only true God and to perfectly do His will. Jesus finished the work given to Him by His Father.

“If I am not doing the works of my Father, then do not believe me; but if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father,” (John 10:37-38).

Jesus came to perfectly do the works of His Father, so people could understand that He and the Father were one (John 10:30). Jesus finished the work given to Him by His Father.

“I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness. If anyone hears my words and does not keep them, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world. The one who rejects me and does not receive my words has a judge; the word that I have spoken will judge him on the last day,” (John 12:46-48).

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me,'” (John 14:6).

Jesus came as the light of the world, giving fallen mankind the opportunity to move from utter darkness into His marvelous light. He came to save people. Jesus finished the work given to Him by His Father.

“Then Pilate said to him, ‘So you are a king?’ Jesus answered, ‘You say that I am a king. For this purpose I was born and for this purpose I have come into the world–to bear witness to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth listens to my voice,'” (John 18:37).

Jesus came as fully God and fully Man to be the incarnation of the Truth of God. Jesus finished the work given to Him by His Father.

“But now the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law, although the Law and the Prophets bear witness to it–the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. For there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins. It was to show his righteousness at the present time, so that he might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus,” (Romans 3:21-26).

“Since therefore the children share in flesh and blood, he himself likewise partook of the same things, that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and deliver all those who through fear of death were subject to lifelong slavery. For surely it is not angels that he helps, but he helps the offspring of Abraham. Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect, so that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted,” (Hebrews 2:14-18).

Jesus

No Responses to “FINISHED WORK AT THE CROSS”

Leave a Reply

